DragonRealms vs. GemStone IV

Kuzzle

Cadet
Ok, well, I figured I'd try one of these games, since everyone seems to love them so much. Problem is, I can't decide which. That's where you guys come in. I liked the GSIV website more, but... I don't know, I took a look through an old thread here and people made DR seems pretty cool, so... I decided I'd ask which you guys prefer.

Aw, I'm too biased. (Dragonrealms!!)

From what I understand is: in GS you can level up by practicing any skills and getting experience points from them. (I never really played GS, so I don't know exactly how it works)

In DR you actually level your skills and once you get enough in certain ones, you can level up.

I guess since leveling is a big part of the game, that's probably a good way to choose.

Biased also. DragonRealms! I just reopened my olde DR account, actually.
DR also has a much higher regular population, I believe.

DR... 'cause it's more funner. duh.
Actually... I have no experience with GS, either.

I chose GS. Why? The site made it look so much better than DR. Also, I was in a rush. But still... The DR site made it look, uh... Well, less attuned to my style of play than GS seemed to be.

You rebel! :smiley: Simutronics makes great games... Either game is bound to be a lot of fun for you, if you can get into text based games.

Maybe you can give us a review of your GS experiences after you've gotten the hang of the world.

*Smites the WatchMaker*

310706_smite.jpg

Aw, I want a smite button... But yeah, once I understand what I'm doing, I'll... Try to make a non-gibbershauce(tm) post about it.

Enjoy GS, in my opinion it is the better game, I tried DR, I really did. I think I just couldn't get past how not GS it was, so to speak. What I love about GS is the freedom to do what you want. I was a rogue, but all I really did was sit around picking lockboxes for people and occasionally hunt (grind) and I leveled up just fine, it was really a social environment, heavily RP oriented.