Eve Online

thebiv

Cadet
Eve Online is having a free trial right now. I just started playing (about four days in) and so far I love it. I believe it is the game that will hold me over until HJ. Anyone else give it a shot yet? If so do you like it/dislike it? and why? If you get through the lengthy tutorial and are looking for a nice newbie friendly corp(guild) send me a message (Bavin Marloso, is my char)

I tried it awhile back... some others here have as well.
I didn't care for the movement or combat. I thought you could actually pilot your own ship into combat.

Here is an old thread about it: HEROSHALL.COM

My boyfriend plays. He's spent the last four months doing all the learning skills (to boost his stats) and in four days he'll finally start learning actual skills.

They increase the time you learn skills though, as well as combat related things, so I guess it was time well spent. It's not like he had to be in game to do it.

I don't know about this whole, "not in-game" xp deal. To me, it seems just as bad if not worse as the concept of power leveling. The point of a mmorpg is to play it, enjoy it, and then be rewarded for your hard work. I guess thats just me.

WatchMaker said:
I don't know about this whole, "not in-game" xp deal. To me, it seems just as bad if not worse as the concept of power leveling. The point of a mmorpg is to play it, enjoy it, and then be rewarded for your hard work. I guess thats just me.
I see what your saying there. However its not like someone can just pay for an account for a few months, change there skill sets training once every few days, and immediatley be amazing at the game when they are done. If someone did that they would not have the cash assets to purchase the equipment they need.