Falling Down

This is a short one-parter (potentially longer) thing I wrote while procrastinating. "The Telling" scene continuation. So, if you haven't seen it, there are spoilers!

“You’ve been missing for almost two years,” Vaughn said trying to control his voice, which was rife with emotion.

A look of shock and pain crossed Sydney’s face. What did he mean that she had been missing for two years? That was insane. Was it even possible? Why couldn’t she remember anything?

If fears what makes us decide,
Our future journey,
I’m not along for the ride,
Cuz I’m still yearning
To try to touch the sun,
My fingers burning,
Before you’re old you are young,
Yeah, I’m still learning

“What do you mean I’ve been missing for two years?” Sydney asked tears welling up in her eyes. “You mean to tell me that I’ve been gone for two years and no one ever found me?”

“Sydney, we looked and looked for you. I was at the Ops Center for days on end. Eric had to literally drag me home to make me eat and sleep,” Vaughn said trying to make her understand. “Even then, I couldn’t sleep at night. I kept having these tormenting dreams about you. I would wake up after only a few minutes in a cold sweat, frantically looking around for you-”

Sydney cut him off, raw emotion in her voice. “And how long did you wait for me? A few weeks, maybe a month before you found someone else? I thought you cared about me!” She said, the anger building in her voice.

“Sydney,” Vaughn said pleading now. She turned her head abruptly away.

“I don’t want to hear it!” She yelled. “I believed in you. I trusted you! And the second I disappear, you just turn your back on me. I thought I knew you better than that Michael Vaughn! I really thought that I did.”

I am falling down
It feels so good to hit that ground,
You can watch me,
Fallin on my face,
It’s an uphill human race
and I am falling down