Dismiss Notice
Alien Soup is a free community for fans of science-fiction, horror, & fantasy! Everybody is welcome here.

Go Laura Goldsmith!

Discussion in 'Alias' started by kiki81ny, Mar 17, 2003.

  1. kiki81ny

    kiki81ny Rocket Ranger

    Dec 9, 2002
    New York
    From Businesswire-

    Colleen Atwood, costume designer of "Chicago," and Wendy Chuck, costume designer of "About Schmidt," are winners of 2002 Excellence in Costume Design for Period/Fantasy and Contemporary films, respectively, as announced tonight by the Costume Designers Guild (CDG) during its Fifth Annual CDG Awards ceremony at the Regent Beverly Wilshire Hotel before a black-tie gathering of 600 costume designers, industry executives, celebrities and media.

    Laura Goldsmith, costume designer of "Alias," and Jane Anderson, costume designer of "American Dreams" are winners of Excellence in Costume Design for Contemporary and Period/Fantasy Television, respectively, while the winners for Excellence in a Commercial, a new category, went to Bobbie Mannix for "T-Online" campaign and Kym Barrett for Anti-Smoking -- PSA -- "Heart Disease."

    This year's CDG Awards also marked the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Guild. Anjelica Huston was mistress of ceremonies at the awards. Deborah Nadoolman Landis is President of CDG. Presenters included Andy Garcia, Laura San Giacomo, Mira Sorvino, Meryl Streep, Tim Curry, Victor Garber, Patricia Wettig, Ken Olin, Rick Levine and Bob Mackie.

    Dustin Hoffman was presented an honorary CDG award for Distinguished Actor. Other honorary awards were presented to Ann Roth for Career Achievement in Film, to Rita Riggs for Career Achievement in Television, and to legendary Italian Costume Designer Piero Tosi for The President's Award. In addition, Clare West, Mitchell Leisen, Natacha Rambova and Wayne Finkelman were inducted into the Guild's Hall of Fame.

    Awards Committee Chair for CDG is Lois DeArmond with Robin Richesson and Bonnie Nipar assisting on important sub-committees.

    The winners for 2002 Excellence in Costume Design Awards are:

    Excellence in Film, Contemporary About Schmidt - Wendy Chuck

    Excellence in Film, Period/Fantasy Chicago - Colleen Atwood

    Excellence in Television, Contemporary Alias - Laura Goldsmith

    Excellence in Television, Period/Fantasy American Dreams - Jane Anderson

    Excellence in Commercial Costume Design Kym Barrett, Costume Designer for Anti-Smoking -- PSA -- "Heart Disease" Bobbie Mannix, Costume Designer for "T-Online" campaign

    Each winner and honoree received a work-of-art silver statuette, valued at $15,000 by its supplier, the famed Italian jewelers Bvlgari. The award, one of the most sought-after statuettes in the world of awards, was designed by CDG member David LeVey who describes it as "an amorphous swirl of fabric resolving into a draped human figure of idealized female beauty." The statuettes reflect a mixture of neo-classicism and 1940s Hollywood glamour. Presenters were each given $5,000 LaCroix watches as part of their gift bags.

    Honorary co-chairs of the CDG Awards were Bob Mackie and Ray Aghayan. CDG's Executive Director is James J. Casey Jr. Sponsors of this year's CDG Awards included Bvlgari, International Creative Management, Cinecitta Holding, The Scenographer, The Hollywood Reporter, and Daily Variety.

Share This Page