'Heart Held Prisoner'

Hey you guys! I am an official newbie! This is my first ever fan fic! Hope you like it – it’s a Sarkney kinda smut… Anyway, it’s kinda hard to describe without embarrassing myself, so I won’t any further! Please read, review and enjoy! ~ Jen

‘HEART HELD PRISONER’

Part 1

Sydney stared at her empty glass moodily. Propping her chin up on her hands, she lowered her arms till they were lying flat on the top of the bar. Looking deep into the glass, the crowded room looked blurred and distorted. Just like her life was, she thought bitterly.

“No matter how hard you stare at it, it won’t fill up again unless you ask for another.”

Sydney turned around, startled, to see Sark standing behind her with his trademark smirk already in place. “What do you want?” she asked sullenly, turning away from him.

“Tsk, tsk, so suspicious today Ms. Bristow,” he said sitting down beside her, “and what if I were to say that I just wanted to enjoy the pleasure of your company?”

“I would say that I don’t usually keep the company of murderers,” Sydney muttered, lowering her voice slightly.

“Neither do it, I must say,” he said musingly, running a hand through his hair, “usually they are just arsonists, extortionists, thieves, kidnappers, blackmailers, assassins, spies… You know the type surely?”

“Just go away Sark, I’m really not in the mood, OK?” Sydney said, pushing away her glass and getting up.

“Surely you’re not leaving so soon?”

Leaning in close to his face, she said dangerously softly, “Don’t push me Sark, otherwise I swear to God, I will kick your ass.”

Leaving through the back exit, she breathed in sharply, shaking away the fogginess of the warm, smoky bar, and shivered. Leaning against the wall, she closed her eyes and tried to think of somewhere she could go. Somewhere where nobody would know who she was. Somewhere where nobody could find her.

“Meditating are we? Never pictured you as the Buddhist type.”