I Can't Love You

This is my first time during fan fic. It's about syd and vaughn after he got married 2 lauren. please post comments. sorry if it isn't good :thinking:

I Can’t Love You

Chapter 1
Michael sat on the edge of the bed, sunk in deep thought. He took a short glance at his sleeping wife Lauren. He loved her, but he never did love her as much as he loved Sydney. Never.

Suddenly his whole life seemed to flash in front of him. The day he shared that first kiss with Syd, the day that he discovered Syd was so-called dead, the day he met Lauren, the moment when he had married Lauren, and the moment that he found out Syd was alive. In that single hour of his life he had experienced more happiness than ever when he discovered she was alive and more pain than any of his injuries when he had told her that he was married. He still could remember her expression; of utter pain and sadness the moment he had broken the news to her. He reminisced on that day, where he had returned home to his wife feeling like an absolute fool, like life had cheated him.

He suddenly felt complete regret for marrying Lauren, a sensation that had come up from time to time ever since Syd showed up alive. He shook his head. Moments of his past had haunted him for those empty two years. His life wasn’t so empty now after knowing that Syd was alive. Yet it would only be complete if Syd understood that his heart ached for her, that he still loved her forever even if he was married.

He stole another glance at Lauren. How he wished that Syd could be in Lauren’s place, how they could be happy together. Instead, here he was, thinking about love; the last thing CIA operatives should think about. Forget CIA agent, Michael, you’re a human. You’re supposed to be thinking about love. He buried his face in his hands. When he had first started out at the CIA all he wanted to do was protect his country. Now all he wanted to do was disappear.