Votes: 1 6.7%
  • Download

Votes: 2 13.3%
  • Both

Votes: 5 33.3%
  • Niether

Votes: 7 46.7%

• Total voters
I'll be the first to admit that I am a hypocrite; I decry movie piracy, but find much less issue with grabbing an entire season of House off of BitTorrent. I don't approve of file swapping, and yet I'll think nothing of copying a friend's MP3 collection, or downloading songs off a blog.

Movies, in particular, seem especially wrong to me -- I don't know why.

I used to feel the same way till I found out what I was missing.

I have actually been more happy with my dvd purchases lately.

I used to feel the same way till I found out what I was missing.

I have actually been more happy with my dvd purchases lately.
I'm not sure what you mean by this. Are you saying that, because you're downloading movies for free, you appreciate the movies that you legally purchased even more?

As a writer, and as a software developer, I make my living by creating original content. If people can acquire this content for free, then my family goes hungry, and as a result I have to give up creating content and start flipping burgers or digging ditches. And I hate flipping burgers, and digging ditches probably wouldn't be a lot of fun, either.

Having said that... I'm not free from sin. I illegally download and copy lots of MP3s, and a few TV shows, so I understand the allure. But I don't feel good about what I do, and I don't try and justify it with lame arguments like, "Well, I'm only doing this because there's no economical system for music distribution" or "Downloading music makes people more likely to purchase music."

On the one hand, I don't stream or download movies via the Internets..........on the other hand, in regards to music, thank heavens for Limewire! :P ;) :smiley: :smiley:

All I'm saying is that I stopped buying crappy movies.
Because you knew that you could download them and watch them anyway? I barely have enough time in my life to watch the good movies...