Dismiss Notice
Alien Soup is a free community for fans of science-fiction, horror, & fantasy! Everybody is welcome here.

Startup Vista Problem

Discussion in 'Feedback & Suggestions' started by Tom, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Any ideas?

    My wife took our laptop to work last night and now windows won't start

    Start up repair doesn't work and I can't find the system recovery drive

    I get an error that there is a corrupt file but I can't find anything about it.

    I have no recovery disk and Vista was loaded when I bought it 2 years ago.

    1245202 corrupt file

    3221225624 corrupt file

    os version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.2561

    Startup repair v2
    autofailover

    problem signature02: 6.0.6000.16386.6.0.6000.16386

    problem signature03: 6
    PS04: 1245202
    PS05: corruptfile
    PS06: corruptfile
    PS07: 3221225624
    PS08: 3
    PS09: wrpRepair
    PS10: 10

    Locale ID: 1033

    I can't even boot in safe mode

    It is now one very expensive paperweight!
     
  2. Mojo

    Mojo Rocket Ranger

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    What specifically happens when you power up the laptop?

    I found this by Googling the problem signature:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/934540/en-us

    Any chance your wife may have borrowed a USB drive from someone at work? Especially one that contains system files?
     
  3. Kevin

    Kevin Code Monkey Staff Abductee

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    ... any chance the hard drive has a hidden partition with the recovery software (a trick some vendors use)?
     
  4. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    no flash drive was or is in use

    as soon as it powers up it goes to startup repair. no log in screen

    it says there is no recovery (drive D) zero bytes
    It says there is no system restore yet during windows update it created a restore point

    Yes it was working after the windows update

    I was able to get to the prompt for safe mode but safe mode doesn't start either
    Last known configuration doesn't work either
    windows normal doesn't
    debug doesn't

    I downloaded a vista boot image but I have to figure out how to get it on a cd in a readable file. I will read up on that tonite after work.

    PC doctor wont run either

    I went to dos prompt and it shows my d: drive but it shows that at zero bytes used. I know the oem recovery files were on that drive
     
  5. Tim

    Tim Creative Writer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    England
    try booting up and hitting the function keys, F8-F11 and see which one activates the recovery. Recovery will fully format your master drive though, so you'll lose the last pics/docs you didn't backup in your normal regime.
     
  6. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    "No valid backup locations can be found"
    On diagnostics screen from the failed startup recovery I chose DOS and it reads

    X:\windows\system32>

    c: gives me C:\>

    C:\>windows
    gives me "unrecognised command"
    C:\>dir
    says drive c has no label
    gives serial #
    Then gives c content
    content = 5.102 bytes
    34,026,049,536 bytes free
     
  7. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Its an 80 gig hard drive

    there are 9 <DIR> listed
     
  8. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    I have the recovery image converted and burned to disk - still not working

    I found this:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927392/

    Going to try these - Tried reinstalling and it says it cant

    Maskwirl says she was watching a flash video and it just shut off - when she tried to start it up it went to startup repair and would not start.

    I'm wondering if a video driver could cause startup issues?
     
  9. Tim

    Tim Creative Writer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    England
    er, was it a flash video or did she click a link to a so called video site that asked to install codecs to view the video? These sites install viruses. Although you should still be able to boot from a downloaded image and install vista normally with your serial off the sticker attached to computer
     
  10. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    I'm running a comprehensive diag self test from CMOS
    I already reset to defaults

    The recovery disk finds my drives but I have an X: drive now that I did not have before.
    Its trying to boot from the x:drive

    It won't let me change it to boot from c:drive

    While looking for drivers from the repair menu I found the driver repository but there are hundreds of drivers and I don't know which to choose.

    I may be getting my electric shut off today.
    so this is low on the problems totem pole.
    If I can somehow convince the elect co to keep me on till my next paycheck I will let y'all know how this went.
     
  11. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast

    No she wasn't online - It was a video I downloaded and already watched...twice.

    I have been using the laptop at work every day for the last 2 wks watching videos and listening to music.

    The last download I did was windows update , restarted and moved the video to her desktop so she could find it. I played the video before she left for work so I knew it would play. I shut down the laptop and the rest you know.

    I gotta head out for work, I'm taking the laptop with me and will dick with it at work if I can. If I get it I will use the wi-fi to let y'all know what I did.

    hopefully I will still have electricity when I come home.
     
  12. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Hmm, electric still on...
    Its only lunch time tho

    The drive letter X: is what it is trying to boot from.
    I never had a X: drive

    I wonder if that is an indication of a virus?

    Strange how it didn't happen the two times I watched the video?

    I gotta figure out how to get it to boot from C: drive somehow
     
  13. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Microsoft is sending me a cd to fix the problem but they closed my case. Pretty sure of themselves...They must be aware there is a problem with the update. I wonder how many other people are pulling their hair out over this?
     
  14. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    I say...OK but where is the cd again?
     
  15. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    I did fill out the survey, best score was a 4.
     
  16. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Update, got the cd today- gunna run it later or tomorrow, I'll let you know how it goes...
     
  17. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Well, I had to reinstall windows with a new security code and everything. My files were saved to windows.old and I have transfered them all to my active desktop. It seems to be working right now.
    I pity the people that don't have the cd fix. It was a bear.
     
  18. Kevin

    Kevin Code Monkey Staff Abductee

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    My first reaction is :eek: at having to start from scratch... but then I thought about the fact that I end up wiping my boxes, for one reason or another, at least once a year to install fresh copies of XP.

    From all of this... did you end up changing any of your habits (eg: keeping backups on a different drive or removable media)?
     
  19. Tom

    Tom An Old Friend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Yes, I also deleted all the old program installs of the programs I use and update regularly.

    I have drive enclosures for about 500gb of storage and I just bought a 100 case of memorex dvd-r disks. I zip my files with 7-zip and burn them to dvd.

    I didn't really lose anything - It was mostly a PITA.
     

Share This Page