The Human Story Behind the Trilogy

Robby

Helper Bot
[img2=left]http://www.coolscifi.com/forums/images/smilies/sci-fi/star_wars/sw_xwing.gif[/img2] Go behind-the-scenes of the behind-the-scenes epic , the unprecedented documentary of the making of the Trilogy by Kevin Burns.

When veteran producer Kevin Burns was just a budding film student working as a projectionist at a movie theater in Needham, Mass., little did he know that decades after seeing the Imperial Star Destroyer flying across the big screen for the first time in A New Hope that he'd be telling the back story of Star Wars in the epic two and a half-hour documentary Empire of Dreams.

"I would project the film 20-30 times. During college I also worked in the film industry for a distribution company and so I saw The Empire Strikes Back at a screening just for exhibitors before it opened. And I saw Return of the Jedi at a sneak preview before it opened. And of course I wasn't above buying the action figures, and the lightsabers, and I was a charter member of the Star Wars Fan Club."

But Burns' involvement on one of the most extensive looks into the story behind Star Wars began not with an appreciation for the Emperor, but for the ruler of Egypt -- Cleopatra.