The Key

hawkeye

Cadet
Title: The Key…sort of random, I need a title so just picked a random word which was in the fic. :rolleyes:

Author: hawkeye (Katie). This is my first attempt at any sort of angst so…I’ll be hiding over here.

Disclaimer: I don’t own Alias, if I did…well, let’s just say it would be different. :whistle:

Rating: PG?

Timeline: Set Late S3

Summary: Vaughn has a decision to make.

Oh and a big thanks to Ace who I think actually wrote half of this when I asked her to look over it. :rolleyes: Love ya! :hug:

The Key
Vaughn didn’t know what he was doing.

He was standing at her door in the bitter cold. The black sky mirroring his dark mood. He didn’t know why he was there. It was three in the morning. The lights were off but he knew she probably wasn’t asleep.

She never was.

He sighed as he walked around to her bedroom window.

He shouldn’t be doing this. He shouldn’t even be here.

His fight with Lauren was spinning around in his mind, the thoughts unable to find an escape as he stepped toward the window. The inner battle was still raging on in his head, the answer still undecided between the opposing sides of his conscience.

Vaughn didn’t know what to do anymore.

He was lost without her.

He had to see her.

But he couldn’t.

He had to check if she was okay,

But he knew she wasn’t.

He had to watch her sleep.

…Just like always.

What was he thinking? He was married for crying out loud!

Everything was so screwed up and it was all his fault.

Vaughn slowly took the last step toward her window. Like before, her curtain was opened slightly and he could see her at long last.

His Sydney.

But she wasn’t his anymore.

She wasn’t anyone’s.

She was alone.

He let a single tear fall and trace its way down his darkened features.

He should be with her,
Holding her,
Calming her,
Kissing her,
Making love to her,
Telling her everything’s would be okay…because they were together.

Again.