Politics The story of a boy...

How far is too far?

I knew this world was unfair, but I must explain my utter dislike for ignorant people that think they get their fun out of controlling and abusing someone that loves them. The fact that they can still sleep at night and wake up in the morning with a smile on their face after they’ve made their loved ones life a living hell makes me utterly sick. The reason I’m writing this is because I can’t say it out loud, nor to the certain people I want to express these feelings too.

I met a boy three years ago. He was the manager of the girl tennis team at my high school when I was a sophomore, and we immediately hit it off. Instant friends. This boy is so fun to be around, so happy…or so I thought.

Three years later I find out it’s a façade, a shield that he has made so people don’t find out what’s really going on when he goes home. It made sense, all the clubs he was involved in, all the hours spent at school even after classes were over. He didn’t want to go home. And now I understand why.

He’s leaving tomorrow. He’s going to Pakistan to visit his fading grandmother that he hasn’t seen in fifteen some odd years. His parents have already told him he can’t bring photo ID; if it were discovered he was an American he would be abducted and held for ransom by terrorists in the next town. What kind of morbid people would let their son go to a country by himself when he could possibly never return?

The relationship with his parents has always been strained, so he has told me. They talk down to him like he is insufficient to their expectations, that he somehow isn’t good enough. Let me tell you something, they’re not f***in’ good enough to have him in their lives. They told him he was fat, he’s only a 110 pounds. Their badgering and low comments caused him to become bulimic. He said he hasn’t done it in a few months, but he still doesn’t eat very much.