The Watch Stopped

Hey everyone - I'm a total newbie here - just discovered this fantastic show Alias. :smiley:

I'm inspired to make music videos about the show now, and am working on it (I normally make Farscape music vids). But this show is challenging me to create in other ways as well. I don't normally write a lot of fic - I'm much more visually inclined. But I felt inspired to create SOMETHING. This piece has not been beta'd. Any and all mistakes are mine. So, here goes (hope this topic hasn't been done to death already):

:angelic:

The Watch Stops

His elegant wife slides a slim back case across the table towards him, and pulls his menu away from his face – forcing him to examine the gift she’s proffered. As he opens it and realizes what is inside his heart sinks - for this is not her domain. He fingers the band, lifting the timepiece up for a closer look. It’s changed – she has altered it. The second hand ticks downward. . .

He is caught in the middle of another busy day as usual – nothing ever seems to slow down when you work for the CIA. His buddy, Weiss, knocks on his door to let him know that yet another person needs to see him. He sighs and checks his watch. Though it is terribly out of style and doesn’t seem to match anything, he never takes it off. His father gave it to him long ago, telling him You could set your heart by this watch. It is beyond reliable.

It is 11am, still before lunchtime, as he resigns himself to one more interruption. He takes a brief glance at the photograph of himself and Alice on his desk and smiles. He thinks he is happy, content.

And then he meets HER.