Slow Response in Mozilla Firefox

Tom

An Old Friend
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Location
Gulf Coast
Kevin, You wanted feedback...

In Firefox, latest stable build.
On a PC home computer with a high speed plus internet connection by RS232 ethernet cable.

I'm suddenly noticing long page loads due to the Random Media not loading the additional photos in the slide.
When I hit my stop button only 3 to 4 photos appear.

I don't find it a problem but you said you wanted feedback.

Other pages without the random media load as normal.
I did not attempt to load any of the media galleries or sub-folders.
 

Tom

An Old Friend
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Location
Gulf Coast
Note, if I force the side scroll the images load and scroll back as normal but the main forum page continues to not complete (as evidenced by the circular load graphic on my tab)
 

Tom

An Old Friend
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Location
Gulf Coast
The page is completely loaded but continues to show as "Transferring data from Alien soup" as the mouse over location notification.
I let it sit for a full minute and it never finished.
Hope this helps.
 

Kevin

Code Monkey
Staff member
Joined
Mar 20, 2004
Location
Pennsylvania
The home page is still the same as it was before; only YouTube videos in the forum posts have been changed.

I downloaded the latest Firefox "Quantum" build to my laptop, I'll take a look when I'm back home. :)
 

Tom

An Old Friend
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Location
Gulf Coast
I only said something because I noticed it since you asked for feedback on changes.
What gets me curious is that it is only on the forum home page - other pages load and complete normally.
I watch for long page load times - its the main reason I downloaded the stop button add-on.
Up until just recently, it has not been an issue here for me unless it is on a heavy embed page.
Never on the forums front page.

Like I already said
Its not a problem for me - just feedback
 

Tom

An Old Friend
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Location
Gulf Coast
LOL, I noticed something about this last night.
When Kevin is not here, the page completes normally.
NOW, right now, Kevin is here and the page is again never finishing its load.
I posted this in a new tab so I am watching the load graphic for the front page and
NOPE, not finishing.

Its YOU Kevin, (points fat finger at Kevin) YOU are causing this issue...LOL
 

sci-fi-dude

1963, 1899 called they want every thing back....
Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Location
DFW
The home page is still the same as it was before; only YouTube videos in the forum posts have been changed.

I downloaded the latest Firefox "Quantum" build to my laptop, I'll take a look when I'm back home. :)
What is a Godzilla slow fox fire? I'm lost Kevin?
 

Kevin

Code Monkey
Staff member
Joined
Mar 20, 2004
Location
Pennsylvania
Tom, so far I've been unable to duplicate this. I'm running Firefox 57.0 64-bit on Win10.

The media slider on the front page gets loaded after the page loads but after all of the thumbnails have finished being loaded Firefox should stop as normal.

Are you using any Firefox add-ons?
 

Tom

An Old Friend
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Location
Gulf Coast
My Current Firefox is 56.0 (32-bit) There is an update for 57.0 going to do it right now as soon as I finish this reply.

Extensions


AdBlockPlus 3.0.1
Ant Video Downloader 2.4.7.50 Legacy
BBCode Xtra 0.5.4 Legacy
Classic Theme Restorer 1.7.3.1 Legacy
DownThemAll 3.0.8 Legacy
Gmail Notifier (restartless) 0.5.4.1-signed Legacy
Go To Top Of Page 1.3
Image Toolbar 0.6.18 Legacy
Messenger for Google Hangouts 0.1.9
Speed Dial 0.9.6.18 Legacy
Tab Mix Plus 0.5.0.4 Legacy
Video Downloadhelper 6.3.3 Legacy

Plug-Ins

OpenH264 Video Codec Provided By Cisco Systems, Inc 1.7.1
Widevine Content Decryption Module Provided By Google Inc 1.4.8.1008
Shockwave Flash 27.0.0.183

Appearance

Black Shine

Services
NONE

I just opened the page in another tab and it loaded and completed as normal.
 

Tom

An Old Friend
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Location
Gulf Coast
OH HELL NO
THIS FIREFOX SUCKS
All my stuff is gone.
Now I have to go search for the old version.
 

Tom

An Old Friend
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Location
Gulf Coast
Given the choice of hitting the stop button once in awhile or losing all my speed dials and all the other felgercarb they put in firefox, I'll hit the stop button.

The speed dial they offer is stored in a cloud.
The whole set up is geared to intrusive marketing.
It put twitter, ebay, facebook and wiki on my start page
Flat out - I didn't like it at all and I did attempt to set it up using available options - NOPE

Looks like I am just going to have to keep the older version locked.

Luckily I found my firefox backup and restored from that.
Then I had to restore my speed dial backup too.

One of the reasons I chose firefox all those years ago was BECAUSE it was customizable.
I don't like Apps, the look of apps or the function of apps
Its one of the reasons I HATED win 8.
My browser is not supposed to tell me what sites I should go to.
My browser is not supposed to tell me anything except what I want to know.
That new version is ... intrusive and limited

/rant
 
Top Bottom