Fool's Paradise

jess

Zzzzz
Title: Fool's Paradise
Author: me :D
Disclaimer: Don't own it. Don't sue.
Summary: Set after Unveiled when Vaughn discovers that Lauren is the mole for the Covenant. It goes AU after that as Vaughn deals with the betrayal by pushing everyone away and shutting down emotionally. Is there anyone that can make him feel again?
A/N: I couldn't let this fic sit on my computer for any longer and while I promised myself I would finish writing all the chapters before posting it, I'm weak so now I'm posting it, lol. It's unbeta'd so all mistakes are mine.

I think I've bitten more than I can chew. I start a fic when I have exams in a week :doh: Also, I'm a slow writer :blush: so I'll try my best with updating at regular intervals.

Finally, this has also been posted at sd-1.net.

----------------------
Chapter One
----------------------

Nothing.

The void that fills a black hole…the abyss that occupies the depths of the ocean.

Feel nothing.

Incarceration to a prison cell devoid of everything but nothingness; a plague upon my life, incapacitating my ability to feel; a malignant tumor growing inside, eliminating not only the pain and despair but also the joy and ecstasy of life.

I feel nothing.

The solution to my problem…

The cure to my disease…

------------------------------------------------

“Any problems, Agent Vaughn?”

“No sir.”

“Very well. You’re dismissed.”

I rise from my chair in unison with Dixon and obediently push the chair to its designated position beneath the long conference table. To avoid conversation with Dixon - the only other occupant in the debriefing room - I attempt to loosen the vice grip my tie has on my airway.

“Vaughn.” Dixon’s voice reverberates in the sterile debriefing room, bouncing off the blank walls, halting my actions and thoughts. Looking in his eyes I see understanding, mixed with pity and a touch of condolence creating a cocktail of sympathy. “I’m sorry for your loss.”